Université Paul Sabatier - Bat. 3R1b4 - 118 route de Narbonne 31062 Toulouse Cedex 09, France

Home > Introduction

The Laboratory

The Laboratoire de Chimie et Physique Quantiques (LCPQ) is an academic joint research unit (UMR 5626) between University Toulouse III and CNRS (Chemistry institute as first affiliation, Physics institute as second affiliation). Its current contours date back to January 2007. The laboratory, first named Laboratoire de Physique Quantique (LPQ), was created in 1974 by Jean-Paul Malrieu and Philippe Durand.

Journées du LCPQ en 2014
Journées du LCPQ en 2014
Journées du LCPQ en 2018
Journées du LCPQ en 2018
Journées du LCPQ en 2022
Journées du LCPQ en 2022

After being part of the Institut de Recherche sur les Systèmes Atomiques et Moléculaires Complexes (IRSAMC) for many years, the LCPQ is now part of the research institute FeRMI (federation de recherche Matiere et Interactions).

The LCPQ is a founding member of the laboratoire d’excellence Nano-mesures EXtremes-Theorie (NEXT), created in Toulouse in 2011 in the framework of the governmental ’investments for the future’ first campaign, and of NanoX (Nanoscale Science and Engineering), which is both a labex and a graduate schoole of research (EUR in French).

The LCPQ is currently involved in various domains of theoretical chemistry (mainly quantum chemistry) and theoretical molecular physics, and at their interface. It has a strong methodological component, that allows for the development of several computational codes, as well as teams involved in the application of all types of methods to systems of physico-chemical and biological interest: molecular magnetism, high-resolution spectroscopy, reactivity and photochemistry of coordination complexes and biomolecules, aggregates and nanoparticles.

The laboratory is organised in four teams:

- Theory (THEO)
- Theoretical and Computational Photochemistry (PTC)
- Extended Systems and Magnetism (SEM)
- Modelisation, Clusters, Dynamics (MAD)

These teams are supported by three staff members in charge of networks and systems (David Sanchez, IE UPS and Eric Colledani, AI CNRS) and in charge of development, analysis and software optimisation (Anthony Scemama, IR CNRS).

- Director: Thierry LEININGER

Phone: +33(0)5 61 55 61 52
Mail: thierry.leininger[AT]irsamc.ups-tlse.fr

- Co-Director: Nathalie GUIHERY

Phone: +33(0)5 61 55 60 98
Mail: nathalie.guihery[AT]irsamc.ups-tlse.fr

- Secretary: Amandine LAURENT

Phone: +33(0)5 61 55 68 34
Fax: +33(0)5 61 55 60 65
Mail: amandine.laurent[AT]irsamc.ups-tlse.fr